23rd Annual Steve “Merc” Morris All-Star Team

As Selected by the Worcester Area Sports Information Directors 


The Worcester Area Football Association All-Star Team is named in the memory of Steve “Merc” Morris, the longtime Assistant Director of Athletics for Media Relations and Assumption Hall of Famer. “Merc” was a 1972 graduate of Assumption and was a member of the athletics staff for 39 years before passing away in January of 2011.

In addition to being the founder of the Worcester Area Association All-Star program, he was a tireless supporter of collegiate athletics in the Worcester area and had a key role in the lives of thousands of student-athletes.





Offensive Player of the Year - Robert Small, Anna Maria, Sr, RB

Small becomes the second-ever major award winner in the five-year history of Anna Maria's football program to cop a Worcester Area honor. He also is the 11th running back to earn the prestigious accolade.

Small, who rushed for 1,224 yards and 15 touchdowns, was named the ECFC Offensive Player of the Year after leading the conference in rushing average (136.0 YPG) and yards per carry (6.2).

He scampered for a season-best 240 yards and four touchdowns - including three in the second-half - to help the AMCATS best Maine Maritime 55-49 en route to the first-ever Division II/III New England Writers Golden Helmet honor for Anna Maria on September 18.



Defensive Player of the Year - Derrick Mann, Assumption, Jr., DE

Mann, who was honored as the Northeast-10 Defensive Lineman of the Year, becomes the 13th player from Assumption to cop Defensive Player of the Year laurels since 1992.

From his position up front, Mann paced the Greyhounds with 11 tackles for a loss, 5.5 sacks and a trio of interceptions.

Mann helped the Greyhounds post a 6-3 league record which was good for fourth place in the Northeast-10 as he also earned a spot on the prestigious Division II/III New England Writers Team.




Special Teams Player of the Year - Tad Beuchert, Assumption, Sr., PK

Beuchert becomes the first placekicker to cop Worcester Area Special Teams Player of the Year accolades.

As of this past week, Beuchert has the eight-most field goals in Division II with an eye popping 15 in 11 games - including seven of which have been for 35 yards or greater. He was also 34-of-35 on PATs for the best kick scoring sum in the Northeast-10 with 79 points.

For his efforts in anchoring the Greyhound special teams corps, Beuchert was tabbed to the Division II/III New England Writers Team as one of three from Assumption on the squad.



Co-Freshman of the Year - Garrett Dellechiaie, Fitchburg State, QB

As the third Fitchburg State student-athlete to cop Freshman of the Year honors, he becomes the first recognized since Dave McDonnell earned the honor in 2002.

Dellechiaie led the MASCAC with a school-record breaking 25 passing touchdowns to go with 1,930 yards and a .598 completion percentage.

For helping lead the Falcons to their first winning campaign since 2005, he was selected as the MASCAC Offensive Rookie of the Year.




 Co-Freshman of the Year - Peter Pujals, Holy Cross, QB

Pujals is the third Holy Cross student-athlete to earn Freshman of the Year honors and he was picked by the area SIDs as the seventh quarterback to win the award.

As the Patriot League Rookie of the Year, Pajals impressed  with both the second highest passing yardage total (2,261) and scores through the air (19) in the conference as he converted a remarkable .636 percent of his throws.

In nine contests, he put up eight 200 yard passing games including 345 yards and four touchdowns in a triple overtime setback against Co-Ivy League champion Harvard. 





Coach of the Year - Pat Haverty, Fitchburg State

Coach Haverty has been named the Worcester Area Football Association Coach of the Year for the second time in his eight-year career.

He helped guide Fitchburg State to a 6-4 mark, a four year improvement from the 2012 campaign. Haverty, the Champion MASCAC Coach of the Year, guided the Falcons to a 5-3 record, which was good for a tie for third in the final regular season standings.

After starting off the season at 1-4, Haverty helped Fitchburg State win five of their last six.





Archived Teams

1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000

2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009

2010 | 2011 | 2012